devotional poetry · Hellenic Polytheism · hermes

i.

My god winks when the light catches Him, like silver, like steel. The white of His smile my only guide as I chase Him through the shadows, blind, reaching out to catch Him in the blackness. He doesn’t let me.

And so we run, He flies, and My God, I am so scared, but I’m not alone, the white of His smile tells me so. For there are dangers all around in the dark, Little Girl, but you are a little girl no more and you need to learn. My God winks when the demons catch me, like steel, and His nimble fingers close around my own, closing around the hilt. And I remember the monster with a hundred eyes who lost his life to a whisper of a word from this honeyed tongue, the Argos Slayer, who else to teach how to kiss and kill? My god winks like silver coins in the gutter, on a counter, in a rich man’s pocket, and the Prince of Thieves whispers words from childhood with an edge they were never meant to have, take what you can, give nothing back.

I chase Him through the shadows, arms outstretched, reaching out to catch Him in the blackness, to beg the friend of man, be kind to me, raise me from this station. He does not let me. And so I run.

One thought on “i.

Leave a Reply

